Madeira drive green wall.
The wall is 20 metres high and 1.2 km long, and is today considered the oldest green wall of its kind.
The wall was originally planted between 1870 and 1882, the wall still thrives today and features around 100 plants
The Madeira drive was in the old days an elegant tearoom and was connected to the road by a hydraulically powered lift, which still operation today.
At the wall there is a display of Japanese spindle, which is one of the major feature of the wall, and it was established in the 19th century, and it was at that time the wall was first build.
An elm tree full of trainers
It was once prince regents cricket ground. It is now called the level and one of the city’s busiest parks, it is well known for its recent £2 million renovation.
The skate park attracts skaters from all over the south east however there is also another part of the park that is hidden away which is the sensory garden.
The shoes started appearing in 2010. Passers-by were left wondering how they got there some think that it started as a prank but some think that it is in memory of someone who passed away.
Irelands garden gateways
Ireland’s garden gateway is across the street from the north end of level, on the outskirts of Brighton’s hills area. Ireland bought the 10 acre site in 1822 from the developer of Kemp town Thomas read Kemp he opened the beautiful gardens on the 1st of May 1823.
This site had an aviary maze, formal gardens and a canal with a gothic style tower, bowling greens, billiard rooms, a grotto, a lake and a cricket ground.
Theatre royal – Backstage tours
Theatre royal originally in 1760 in a converted barn on the old steine, the theatre royal is today is considered to be one of the most distinguished and oldest theatre is the country
Its fortunes fluctuated over the years due to different owners it hit a peak when Mr Henry Nye chart bought it and extended it. His wife was one of the first female managers who took over when he died continuing the theatres success.
The Drawing Circus
There is nothing unusual about life-drawing classes, because there are hundreds to choose from in this art-saturated city. But what if they were hosted by a troupe of theatrical performers and took place in unusual venues, perhaps?
Introducing The Drawing Circus, a group of Brighton-based artist, models, art tutors, musicians and performers who take on characters and lead innovative themed life-drawing events in unusual venues around Brighton, the South-east of England and beyond.
The ghost of Jenny Lind sculpture:
Set on an abandoned Victorian cast-iron railway bridge over New England Road is an eerie vision of a ghost train. This two-dimensional sculpture is a replica of the Jenny Lind locomotive, one of the very first engines built in 1847.
The piece was created by Brighton artist Jon Mills as part of the New England Quarter redevelopment.
The sky lounge
Known as the “Sky Lounge”, the incredible balcony on the 11th floor of the Grade II-listed Embassy Court arguably offers one of the most enviable views over Brighton and Hove seafront.
Today, it’s mainly a communal space for residents and also the final destination on a tour of this fascinating iconic seafronts landmark, witch lay rotting after years of neglect until it was restored in 2005.
Brighton’s Victorian sewers:
The city’s Victorian sewer system was so well designed that it remains in use today. Arch number 260 underneath the Brighton Place Pier is meeting place for one of the city’s most obscure, yet surprisingly popular tours: it takes visitors through a 366-metre section of the 48-km system, starting.
33 Palmeira mansions
Number 33 Palmeira Mansions is one of the city’s hidden gems is an elegant town house dating back to the 1880s. Palmeira Mansions is a large corner terrace house which has the most magnificent grade two stars listed interior, consisting of a unique collection of Victorian comprising of a marble staircase, alabaster tiled walls, marble dados, and many extraordinary fireplaces with elaborate over mantels, these being described in the listing as ‘an outstanding collection of fittings’. Many of the original feature have miraculous survived the ravages of time and development.
The tour introduces you to the building fascinating history and mason’s family background .it also takes you into many of the rooms across the four-storey house, starting in the lavish entrance hall and finishing in the attic
Mr MaSon lived at 33 Palmeira mansions for 51 years until his death in 1940 outliving his second wife and marrying again in his 70 years old.
Mile oak farm
Although Brighton is surrounded by the endless rolling hills of the South Downs national park providing to see animal on farm there’s a “city farm” much close to home
Mile oak farm is located on the dairy on the fringes of hove just behind the area of parslade
There are all typical farmyard animals to see from chicken, goat, duck to peacocks
Children can also enjoy donkey ride at certain times during the week
The crosses eventually sold their dairy herd and opened da farm shop which originally sold horse feed for the 30 or so horse liveries at the farm. Over the years it has expanded to introduce new line and include better facilities, such as family attraction
Opposite the start of the Victorian terraces at the western and of
Madeira drive, the anchor on a plinth once belonged to the athina-b.
This Greek merchant ship, which set sail on 11 December 1979
From the Azores loaded with tones of pumice bound for Shoreham
Ended up as Brighton’s most popular temporary tourist attraction
The ship was eventually hauled off the beach sometime in February 1980 and was apparently taken to a scrapyard near Rainham. The anchor was returned to Brighton as a memento and placed where it now stands on the Madeira Drive promenade, together with a plaque marking the event and the successful rescue of the crew without loss of life
Old police cells museum
An underground museum in Brighton’s first police station
The police museum was hidden underground in the basement of Brighton town hall is quirky old police cells museums. The city’s first police station was established here in 1838 – originally at ground level until the pedestrian square was built at its current height.
The offices and cells are now filled with the memorabilia of the first police station, the walls are filled with nostalgic old photos and cabinets packed with police related objects, including uniforms and badges. They also have one of largest collections of truncheons and tipstave’s in the country it was put together by alderman caffyn throughout his lifetime and is on permanent loan